Unstrange Mind – Why I Don’t “Diagnose” Historical Figures

Unstrange Mind wrote:

“I try not to “diagnose” historical people because I feel like it lowers our credibility to do it, but I definitely see the power in pointing out Autistic traits in historical figures because a. it lets us claim them as our own without making people think we are going too far and b. shows that with or without diagnosis, these traits have always been with us and many people who exhibited Autistic traits were also very successful and created wonderful works of art, science, literature, music, etc.”

You can read the full post here:

Why I Don’t “Diagnose” Historical Figures

 

About unstrangemind

I am an adult Autistic. I've come so far; I have so far to go. I've named my blog after Grinker's excellent book, "Unstrange Minds: Remapping the World of Autism." Other than borrowing from his title (do you know how difficult it is to find a wordpress name that hasn't already been taken?!) I have no connection with Dr. Grinker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

